Chapter 9

Television

I usually watch television whenever I am done with my assignments that need to be done that day and when I have caught up on the Youtube videos that were posted each day. So, it is usually from somewhere around the afternoon until I go to bed when I watch TV. Right now I am watching specific shows through services like HBO GO, Netflix, and STARZ because I don’t really watch anything currently airing on cable and broadcast channels. This is mainly because I am living on campus so I don’t have access to the channels I would watch at home, but even if I was at home it would just be the movie channels and on-demand shows.

This is sort of a bold statement from someone like me, but I do think that someone can watch too much TV. However, I don’t think this because it “rots your brain.” I say this because a lot of shows aren’t meant to be “binge watched,” especially dramatic shows like The Sopranos, The Wire, Breaking Bad, etc. These types of shows have a lot to offer to the viewer and have many twists and turns that are meant sit with the audience. By just going straight from a cliff hanger to what happens next takes away the impact of that moment. I’m just as guilty of doing this as everyone else but now I try to be more careful about it. But in terms of the first reason that you can watch too much TV, I don’t agree fully with that. Like with any other thing people consume, it depends on what that person is consuming and balance, in my opinion.

Last night I watched Band of Brothers on HBO. It is a WWII show in the style of Saving Private Ryan based on a book written about these real people. It follows Easy Company of the US Army 101st division in Europe from Operation Overlord through V-J Day. It is very well done and realistic just like Private Ryan and if you have seen and liked that movie I would highly recommend this show.

1 thought on “Chapter 9”

  1. I agree with you that binge watching isn’t the right way to watch movies. I feel the same way about books. The other day someone said they couldn’t get into a book so they skipped to the end to see what happened and I was horrified. People do this with shows, as well. I don’t see much of a point in doing that because it takes away the entire point of having a story but to each their own. Being on campus, I think, affects everyone’s intake of TV because of our resources. I don’t necessarily think that it is a bad thing that we don’t have the option to sit on the couch in front of the TV here like we do at home. To be completely honest, my future home will probably have a piece of art as the center of the living room instead of a TV.

    Like

Leave a Reply

