Media Journal iii: Life Without Media

            Introspection. That is what my day without media could be summed up to. I slept in later than I normally so I could kill time, but after that, it was just me, myself, and I. The first thing I did was drive around for almost two and half hours in North East Arkansas. I didn’t really have a plan going into this assignment and that was the first thing I thought of. I viewed the landscape and nature of the towns outside of Jonesboro and further all the while just thinking about where I was at in my life. I then went to the park and took a nap in my Eno under the trees by the water. I ate dinner with my family with no media and then went back to the dorm and slept. It was not an eventful day.

            I would say it was somewhat difficult because I didn’t really have anything else to do. After the fact, I thought of some things that would have been good to do but I didn’t plan my day well. This is because I did this on a Saturday which is the highest day for my media consumption. So, the most difficult part was the boredom. I just felt bored all day because I didn’t have any distractions or entertainment that I am used to. However, this brought about some good inner thinking time. I was able to, especially while I was driving, to question my choices and what I was doing and what I want to be doing.

            I missed my entertainment the most. As I said, Saturdays are my highest media use days, so I was not able to use any of these things I normally do for fun on my most free day. I missed watching YouTube, listening to my music, and especially watching movies. I have a long list of movies I plan to watch and this really stifled that and Saturdays are usually when I watch a lot of them. When I was driving, I really missed my music because that is when I listen to it the most. I think this why I was so bored because these forms of media keep me happy and distracted from my boring life. This really made me face that and see how boring my life is.

            The effect of this deprivation on me was that I was, again, bored, but it also made me cherish my media use and almost kind of hold back on it. It kind of taught me to savor it when I had it. Like the kind of mindset that I wouldn’t have it after this time I consumed it. However, it had little to no effect on my social contacts because I only really talk to my mom and no else talked to me on that day besides some people I saw at dinner in person.

            Overall I felt that the assignment is an important one to do. The aspect of being free from the world for a certain amount of time really makes you think and can be helpful for some people. I would suggest the time be shortened a little. Make it a day but not exactly 24 hours. It seemed kind of pointless after 8:00 P.M. But I guess if you have something you could do maybe not. That’s just my opinion. Honestly, the outcome was kind of predictable for me. After doing the previous media journal I knew my media habits and could tell that I would probably be bored all day. I wouldn’t say it was life changing for me, but it was a nice experiment and was fun at times.

            So, after completing these three media journals I’ve learned I use media almost constantly, but I don’t feel addicted to it. I’ve noticed that a lot my consumption is not just throw away entertainment but things that I am using to better myself and my thinking. There are fun things that I watch that don’t have much of an impact on me, but most of it has a purpose behind it. On a scale of 1 to 10 for my control of my media, I would have to rate myself at a 3. I feel that I control my media to a good degree, but I don’t have any alternatives to it. It’s like I know how much I’m using and it may be too much for some people, but I am able to handle it. In the future, I will cherish and savor my media use more and will always make sure it is not controlling me and my life. Regarding recommending this to others, I’m not sure. If they would actually do it, I think some people could really benefit from this. However, I think there are some people who already have a good idea about this stuff and don’t exactly need to do this. So, it depends on the person, but overall I would recommend it. It is an interesting experience and can be helpful. I know I found it interesting. So, am I being used? I don’t think so. I think growing up the way I did, I have learned to control myself and use media for my best interests so I can get busy living.

Leave a Reply

