Chapter 13

The First Amendment

I do not think the First Amendment goes too far in its protections of the and of individuals. I think this because it is the backbone of our democratic and free society. I think it is always best for everyone to be able to express and say whatever they want to. This is the only way that we can come together and understand each other. If we begin banning words and saying what people can and can’t say that is not freedom. I’m not saying that there shouldn’t be consequences. I’m saying that it can be a slippery slope if we start banning speech that is seen as “offensive.” Who determines what is and isn’t offensive? One thing that is offensive to someone may not be to someone else. I just don’t like the idea of that.

I think the government periodically tries to limit it because it knows that it is this powerful tool and ideal that does not bend to political ideologies. They understand that it can hurt and help them. So, they try to limit it to what benefits them the most. I think they just don’t like how open and over-arching it is. It is something they can’t necessarily control and that is hard for them to handle. But that’s just my opinion. I think it shouldn’t be messed with, period.

Leave a Reply

